Today, many of Ivrea's Jewish landmarks are cared for by the Turin community, including one of two synagogues at 24, via Quattro Martiri, the only street in the historical ghetto.
Both synagogues were built after emancipation. The larger of these officially opened in 1875 but soon proved to be too big, and was never used. The smaller synagogue is still used, while the larger one now belongs to the city. The Holy Ark in what was supposed to be the winter temple, is draped in black in mourning for the death of Charles Albert, who decreed emancipation. There is a pulpit in the large synagogue, which is typical of post-emancipation synagogues emulating Christian churches, although they are not used.
The Jewish cemetery is a section of the town cemetery that has been in use since 1863. It can be found at 30, Via dei Mulini.
Jews began calling Ivrea home in 1443. Curiously, they were later expulsed in 1556 by King Henry II of France (1547-1559) when he conquered Ivrea, but the population never left! In 1725, the ghetto was decreed by the Savoy family at the foot of the castle at Rua Coperta (now Via Quattro Martiri).