The Jewish mark on Casale Monferrato is especially pronounced and makes for an interesting visit.
The Piedmontese Baroque-style synagogue can be found at 44, Vicolo Salomone Olper. It has been in use since 1599 and has an anonymous facade. A curious detail is in the prayer room, where a pulpit was added in 1896 imitating Christian churches. The stairs leading up to it were eventually eliminated, however, reducing it to a strictly decorative element. The two floors of the women's galleries and some of the adjacent rooms were converted after restoration in 1968 and became the Museum of Jewish Art and Ancient History. The Museum of Light is located on a lower level and showcases contemporary works which celebrate Hanukkah.
Traces of the town's ghetto, which once included Via D'Azeglio, Via Balbo, Via Alessandria, and Piazza San Francesco, still have original features such as communicating courtyards and long balconies, and one hinge of the ghetto can be found opposite no.16, Via Alessandria.
Always a learning experience, the Jewish cemeteries of Casale Monferrato can be found at Via Negri and Via Cardinal Massaia.
Jews came to settle in Casale Monferrato in 1492 after their expulsion from Spain. Here, they practiced money-lending, although they were also merchants and had the monopoly for the sale of playing cards and the tender for salt. In 1643 they won tender to supply wheat to the French army in Casale Monferrato as well as the construction of fortifications. In 1724, a ghetto was established here by the Savoy family.