Evidence of the prosperity of the community of Gorizia is evident in the balconies and decorative wrought-iron railings that can be found on Via Ascoli, the main street of the ghetto, which took its name from its famous resident, Graziadio Isaia Ascoli, a philologist and linguist who is commemorated on a plaque on this street.
The town's synagogue which was destroyed during WWII and later reopened in 1947 by Jewish American soldiers stationed in the town, was remodeled in 1984 is currently an oratory named after Abraham Vita Reggio and home to the Gorizia Central European Institute of Hebrew studies.
The museum next door is often referred to as "Little Jerusalem on the river Isonzo", and showcases plaques commemorating historical events and people from this small community.
While the area of the ghetto and synagogue passed into Italian hands at the end of WWI, the Jewish cemetery later became part of what is now called Slovenia and is not far from the border with Italy.
After the establishment of the ghetto in Gorizia in 1696, Jews were allowed to buy property and shops in the area and practiced traditional professionals such as money-lending, silk spinning and wax production. In 1781, when a tolerance charter was issued by Emperor Joseph II, Jews were allowed to work in any profession, while the Venetian Republic limited Jewish rights, which thus attracted Jews to Gorizia. When the Jewish population was no longer required to live in the ghetto at the beginning of the 19th century, many moved out. Although the community eventually reached over 300 members at the end of the 19th century, it eventually died out, leaving behind the buildings which still exist of the original ghetto acting as a reminder of both the golden age of tolerance and prosperity under Hapsburg rule and the tragedy of the forty-five Gorizian Jews who were deported during WWII.